Prism Prize Gallery 2015 Videos Press Past Years Home Meet The Jury News About Timeline Rules & Regulations Partners / Sponsors Contact

Prism Prize



Introducing the 2016 Prism Prize Top Ten. On May 15th, one of these videos will take home the $10,000 Grand Prize at our Top Ten Screening & Awards Reception.
Join us at the TIFF Bell Lightbox! Click here to get your tickets!


Watch the 2016 Top Ten:


2016 Arthur Lipsett Award

Watch the Announcement Trailer:



The 2016 Prism Prize Top Ten

(in alphabetical order):


A Tribe Called Red – Suplex (Director: Jon Riera)
Braids – Miniskirt (Director: Kevan Funk)
Death From Above 1979 – Virgins (Director: Eva Michon)
Drake – Hotline Bling (Director: Director X)
The Elwins – So Down Low (Director: Alan Poon)
Fast Romantics – Julia (Director: Matthew Angus)
Grimes – Flesh Without Blood (Director: Grimes)
Harrison – How Can It Be (Director: Maxime Lamontagne)
Kalle Mattson – Avalanche (Director: Philip Sportel)
Monogrenade – Le Fantôme (Director: Kristof Brandl)
On Sunday, May 15, 2016 the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation at TIFF Bell Lightbox will include a screening of the Top Ten videos, and award presentations including: the $10,000 Grand Prize for best Canadian music video of the year; the Audience Award; the Special Achievement Award (presented by FYI Music News) for artistic achievements and exceptional
world-wide contribution to music video art; and the Arthur Lipsett Award (presented by MuchFACT) for innovative and unique approaches to music video art. Tickets to the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation are on sale now at
In addition to the Top Ten, all Prism Prize Top 20 videos are eligible for this year’s Audience Award, presented by Noisey Canada. The Top 20 videos are live at, where fans can watch and vote on who will take home this year’s Audience Award.
All Prism Prize Award recipients, including the Grand Prize, Audience Award, Special Achievement Award and the Arthur Lipsett Award, will receive $2000 grants from William F. White for production equipment rentals, and all Top Ten nominees will receive an exclusive gift bag from MAC Cosmetics.
Past Prism Prize winners for Best Canadian Music Video of the Year include Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015).
Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at

Media Contact:


FLIP Publicity, 416.533.7710, @FLIP_PUBLICITY
Damien Nelson,, x221