2016 Prism Prize Recipients

PHILIP SPORTEL Director of Avalanche by Kalle Mattson WINS 2016 PRISM PRIZE For Best Canadian Music Video of the Year

On Sunday, May 15, director Philip Sportel was announced as the Grand Prize winner of the 2016 Prism Prize for Kalle Mattson's Avalanche music video. Philip Sportel was on hand to accept the Prism Prize trophy and $10,000 award at the Prism Prize Awards Presentation at TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto, Ontario.   The Prism Prize Audience Award was presented to director Eva Michon for Death From Above 1979's Virgins, based on thousands of online votes collected in collaboration with Noisey Canada and  Exclaim.ca.   Director X was also in attendance to accept the previously announced Prism Prize Special Achievement Award (presented by FYI Music News), honouring a Canadian music video artist for their artistic achievements and exceptional contribution to music video art on a world stage. Also honoured at the event was Kristof Brandl, the recipient of the Arthur Lipsett Award (presented by MuchFACT), established to recognize an innovative and unique approach to music video art.   All Prism Prize Award recipients, including the Grand Prize, Audience Award, Special Achievement Award and the Arthur Lipsett Award, received $2000 grants from William F. White for production equipment rentals, and all Top Ten nominees received an exclusive gift bag from MAC Cosmetics.   Plans for the fifth annual Prism Prize will be announced later this year. Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at prismprize.com