Prism Prize Grand Prize Increased to $15,000 + New Website

New website offers comprehensive collection of the best Canadian music videos

The Prism Prize, a not-for-profit organization which celebrates the influential and globally recognized Canadian music scene, is back for its fifth consecutive year. This year, in recognition of extraordinary Canadian talent, the grand prize has been amped up from $10,000 to an impressive $15,000. To mark this milestone, a revamped website has been launched, and offers fans quick and easy access to curated lists of the best Canadian music videos, as well as upcoming activities, current news, and information on previous winners and nominees.

The 2017 Prism Prize jury, made up of more than 120 music and media professionals, will choose the best Canadian music videos of the year. The jury will first narrow submissions down to a Top 20 list which will be announced on February 7, 2017. This list will then be chopped in half, when the Prism Prize Top 10 is announced on March 28, 2017. A grand prize winner will be selected at the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation held at the TIFF Bell Lightbox on May 14th, 2017 and awarded a cash prize of $15,000. Videos are judged based on creativity, originality, style, innovation and effective execution.

2017 Key Dates to Remember:

  • January 1, 2016 to December 31, 201 - Qualification Period
  • February 7, 201 - Top 20 Announcement
  • March 28, 201 - Top 10 Announcement
  • May 14, 201 - Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation

John Calabro, Executive Director of Prism Prize is available to speak more in depth about the organization, this year’s jury, previous winners, participants and activities.

For more information on the Prism Prize check out their brand-new website at

ABOUT THE PRISM PRIZE The Prism Prize, established in 2012, is an annual award recognizing outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos, produced by the not-for-profit Association for Music and Innovative Arts. The vision of the Prism Prize is to promote and support homegrown Canadian creative projects, and bolster the Canadian music landscape. Previous winners have included Philip Sportel for Kalle Mattson’s Avalanche (2016), Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013). ###

For interviews and further information, please contact:

Amanda Gun-Munro,
P: 647-969-6413

Jesse Bernstein
P: 416-566-4502