2019 Prism Prize Top 20 Announced


The Prism Prize today announces the Top 20 best Canadian music videos of the year, as voted by a jury of more than 120 Canadian music, film and media arts professionals. After viewing hundreds of music videos, jurors selected the Prism Prize Top 20 based on originality, style, creativity, innovation and effective execution. One of these videos will be awarded the $15,000 Grand Prize at a screening and awards presentation on Monday, May 13, 2019 at TIFF Bell Lightbox. The Prism Prize Top Ten will be announced on April 2, 2019.

THE 2019 PRISM PRIZE TOP 20 (in alphabetical order):

Arkells - People's Champ (Director: Matt Barnes)

Bahamas - No Depression (Director: Ali J. Eisner)

Belle Game - Low (Director: Kevan Funk)

Blue Hawaii - Do You Need Me (Director: Kevan Funk)

Cadence Weapon - High Rise (Director: Lester Millado)

Chad VanGaalen - Host Body (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

Charlotte Cardin - The Kids (Director: Kristof Brandl)

Clairmont The Second - Gheeze (Director: Clairmont The Second)

Classified - Powerless (Director: Andrew Hines)

Daniel Caesar ft. H.E.R. - Best Part, a Visual (Directors: Keavan Yazdani & Sean Brown)

Deadmau5 - Monophobia (Directors: Nick DenBoer & Kenny Hotz)

Drake - Nice For What (Director: Karena Evans)

Harrison ft. Ralph - Your Girl (Directors: Ft. Langley)

Jean-Michel Blais - Dans ma main (Directors: Mauriès Matos)

Jessie Reyez - Body Count (Director: Peter Huang)

Rich Aucoin - The Middle (Director: Meags Fitzgerald)

Said The Whale - UnAmerican (Director: Johnny Jansen)

So Loki - Athletes World (Director: Lucas Hrubizna)

SonReal - Have A Nice Day (Director: Peter Huang)

The Weather Station - Impossible (Director: Colin Medley)

“Each year I am blown away by the quality of work on the Prism Prize lists, and this year is no exception. These artists are some of the most exciting working in media right now, at home, and around the world. They are the next wave of Canadian talent,” said Prism Prize Founder Louis Calabro.

Organizers also announced Slaight Music as Patron Sponsor for the 2019 awards, continuing a partnership that began when the Prize launched in 2012.  Part of the 2019 partnership provides runner-up artists on the Top Ten list with a cash prize of $500 per project, courtesy of Slaight Music. “We are grateful to Slaight Music for their early, ongoing  and generous support, which is creating tangible opportunities for Canadian musicians,” said Calabro.

Along with the $15,000 to the best Canadian music video of the year, Prism Prize will continue to present several special awards, with announcements to come leading up to the May 13 event.

The Audience Award voting is open to members of the public and begins today, running until April 19, 2019. All 20 Prism Prize shortlisted videos are eligible. Votes can now be registered on the voting site here: https://www.prismprize.com/2019audience

Last year, Toronto based Karena Evans, who worked on multiple Drake billboard hits, including the viral video God’s Plan, and Sza’s Garden (Say It Like That) that starred Donald Glover, was announced as the recipient of the Lipsett Award for innovative and unique approaches to music video art.

The Special Achievement Award (sponsored by Slaight Music) - for artistic achievements and exceptional world-wide contribution to music video art - will also be announced in the coming weeks.

Finally, the Hi-Fidelity Award (sponsored by FACTOR) - an award given to a recording artist who has used video art to represent their work in a consistently creative and innovative way - will also be revealed leading up to the May 13 event.

Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at www.prismprize.com.